The BEST banana bread

IMG_6217.JPGOk, I’ve been searching and searching for the perfect banana bread for years. This is no joke…haven’t you? And sometimes I keep trying the same recipe thinking that it must have been user error, a wrong measurement etc. Nope, still bad. So then of course I ended up on Pinterest. Basically every picture/post says it’s the best…so how do you really know which one is the best? Well, as I was scanning through recipes, I came across one with an ingredient I hadn’t seen in banana bread before: sour cream. Makes sense, right? A lot of moist bundt cakes, and cakes of that nature call for sour cream. Bingo, let’s give it a go. So I did, and it’s now my go to recipe. Also, big note here, this recipe is delicious NUT FREE. Actually, I’ve only made it nut free, despite the recipe calling for nuts…and it’s amazing. Ok here’s how I did it, using this recipe:

Ingredients:

1/2 C butter, softened (1 stick)
1 C granulated sugar
3 eggs at room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 2/3 C flour, sifted
1 Teaspoon baking soda
1/2 Teaspoon salt
1/2 C Sour Cream
3 ripe bananas (I have a stash in my freezer and take them out 30 minutes prior to baking)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Grease a 9″ bread pan. **I found this recipe makes more than a 9″ pan, at first I started making muffins with the remaining batter, but now I make two loaves, and purposefully only fill the pans half way. Of course this changes the baking time, I’ll get to that in a sec!

Combine butter and sugar until creamy (I use my standing mixer for this). Add eggs one at a time until combined. Add vanilla and mix until combined.

Sift together flour, soda and salt in a separate bowl.

Add dry ingredients to wet until well mixed. Add bananas and sour cream.

The recipe says to bake for an hour and a half. If I did that, I would have banana rocks. Every oven is different, but mine runs hot. Also, since I am using less batter in two pans, I check the breads after 20 minutes and then after 10 minutes. And then after another 10 minutes. The last thing you want is burnt banana bread…so be patient, because it’s definitely worth it!! Once the top is a LIGHT golden color, insert a toothpick. If it comes out clean, take it out immediately and let it cool. After 10 minutes, transfer to a wire rack. This bread freezes and thaws GREAT. This is a bread you can make ahead, pull out of the freezer the afternoon before and have ready for the next morning moist as can be!! Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

