Homemade Pickles

IMG_0450IMG_0467 IMG_0471 IMG_0486 IMG_0460IMG_0489Before I saw this post by The Smitten Kitchen on how to make homemade dill pickles, it never really crossed my mind to try to make them. You see, I THOUGHT I was satisfied with grocery store pickles. Well, once I made them, I soon realized that making your own pickles creates a totally amplified taste of any store bought pickle. They are that perfect match of salty and crunchy, trust me, you will know what I’m talking about once you make them. Ok, here’s how I did it! (Please note, I followed The Smitten Kitchen’s recipe).

Ingredients:

8-10 Kirby Pickles (I found mine at the Farmer’s Market)

3 Teaspoons kosher or pickling salt (I used Kosher).

1-2 Tablespoons chopped Dill (I used fresh Dill flower from the Farmer’s Market, fresh dill will work just fine unless you see the flower, and want to try it!)

1/2 C Distilled White Vinegar

1 Liter size Mason Jar, or smaller jars measuring to 1 L. (I found 4 smaller jars at the local hardware Hardware store and split the ingredients accordingly).  I added fresh lemon juice (1/2 of 1 lemon, and zest of 1 lemon) to one jar, 1 Teaspoon fresh garlic to another, and then left two as the recipe calls for.

They were all delicious!

Directions:

It’s pretty simple; slice your Kirby cucumbers and evenly distribute them in your jars. If using one large jar, just throw them in there! Add your salt, dill, and vinegar. (Lemon or garlic if you choose). Fasten the lid on the jars, give them a shake and stick them in the fridge! Make sure you shake the jars every time you open the fridge to help evenly distribute the ingredients. The Smitten Kitchen notes that they will last for up to 3 weeks in the fridge. Enjoy!!

Top: J.Crew Shorts: J.Crew Belt: Similar, here Necklace: here

2 thoughts on “Homemade Pickles”

Leave a Reply

